Modify code in LAMMPS

Hi ,

I am studying the wear behaviour of metal oxide surfaces using MD method. The aim of my investigation is the deformation of surface’s asperity. I was known there were a few available potentials applicable for metal oxide (e.g. Born, Buckingham, semi-ionic potential …) however, these potential describe quite brittle behaviour. EAM or EAM/alloy can adapt this expectation and, actually, there are a few available potential file for metal/metal alloy but no one for metal oxide as in metal oxide there is an additional contribution of ionic interaction between cations and anions. Zhou et al. (attached above) (2004 – A charge transfer ionic-embedded atom method potential for the O-Al-Ni-Co-Fe) investigated the oxidation of metal alloys using the combination of EAM and CTIP (charge transfer ionic potential).

I intend to use this potential with LAMMPS but there is no command/options support me on this matter. Therefore, I decide to go in an alternative approach: I used the parameters from their work to create EAM potential file for Fe and O ( similar with create the potential file for metal alloy) and add the code to add ionic potential to the model by modifying long range Coulomb interaction potential files (coul/long.cpp and coul/long.h) available in LAMMPS source.

If you are an expert in this area, Is it a right approach ?

Another matter is that the system should be charge neutral during simulation, Zhou carried out a MD process to get equilibrium charge for each atom at each step.

Can LAMMPS also do that ?

Best regards,

Ta

A_Charge_Transfer_Ionic_Embedded_Atom.pdf (686 KB)

Adding the variable charge Streitz-Mintmire potential into LAMMPS is a work under progress.

[…]

Thank Ray Shan for your prompt respond !

It is great to hear that charge Streitz-Mintmire potential into LAMMPS is under progress as it will save my time if this potential is published. But I am still wondering that , will it be updated in the next version of LAMMPS ?