Molecular modeling of diatomic molecules

Hi-
I’m a self-taught student of Molecular Modeling who is just trying to learn by doing. I have a math and coding background and know the fundamentals on quantum-mechanics , but have limited prior experience with chemistry.

As a self-assigned exercise, I’m trying to build a Python framework to accurately model interatomic distances for many (all?) of the diatomic molecules.

From past failed experiments, i can now see that wise Force Field choice is a fundamental aspect of this kind of effort.

Does anyone have any advice for me on how to think about which Force Fields I should choose for this? From my naive perspective, it feels plausible that for the ~150 dimers; it’d be prudent to at least choose three different force-fields for the cases of: (i) non-polar covalent, (ii) polar-covalent, and (iii) ionic bond.

Amongst the 100s of models out there and dozens of packages, this is a tough matter to see clearly.

I am having some initial successful results with MMFF94 and UFF with non-polar covalently bonded dimers, but am still trying to figure out the other cases.

Curious to know if anyone has advice for me here. If anyone has survey material (papers, blogs) on this that’d provide a guide; I would be very grateful.

best wishes,

Kevin Rowney