openKIM model name not found

Hello everyone. I am new to molecular dynamics simulations and I have come across an issue regarding a code I have been working on in LAMMPS using openKIM and I’ve taken a few days working on it and am unsure how to progress from this point. Right now my issue is I’m trying to reference an openKIM model, which can be viewed here: https://openkim.org/id/Dipole_Umeno_YSZ__MO_394669891912_001, and for some reason I keep getting the error “ERROR: KIM Model name not found. (src/KIM/kim_init.cpp:189)”. I am referencing the openKIM model in my code by doing:
kim_init Dipole_Umeno_YSZ__MO_394669891912_001 metal

and after calling the create_box command I have the following:
kim_interactions Zr O Y

I believe I am calling doing the kim_init and kim_interactions correctly as I can replace the KIM ID and elements in the kim_interactions with another KIM Model and the program will compile, so I do not believe it is an error in how I am referencing them. Could someone please give me some feedback if they are able to access the openKIM model linked above? I tried referencing it through both the KIM ID, and the short KIM ID, and have had no luck. I’ve tried other various identifiers I found on the openKIM page but those too have not worked.

Thanks for your time.

Hi, thanks for you question.

The model you are interested in is (currently) only available for an old version (v1.6) of the kim-api software. To use it you would need to use an old version of lammps that works with that version of the kim-api. I’m afraid that it would take some effort to figure out exactly what version is necessary and to build all of the right components to get this working.

We have been working with the developer to get this model updated to support the latest version of the kim-api, but progress has been slow. We’ll take your interest as a good prompt to redouble our efforts.

Thanks for using OpenKIM!

Thank you for taking the time to respond to my question.