Peculiar phenomenon of collective translational escape of rigid bodies out of the range of simulation box

Dear LAMMPS users,

I am a newbie in the field, thus please excuse me if my problem might appear trivial.

I am trying to simulate (NPT) a set of rigid bodies (11 spheres arranged in a crescent-like manner) via WCA potential. Below I attach the input script. The thing that bothers me is that around the 4x10^6 timestep the whole system collectively starts to perform the translation move across the simulation box (see the video). Frankly, I have no clue what might be the cause. Any hints/advices are highly appreciated.
initial_script.in (2.3 KB)
video

This is not as unusual as you might think.
The phenomenon is generally referred to as “flying ice cube syndrome”. This is because the thermostat cannot remove the center of mass drift, so to maintain the total temperature more and more kinetic energy will be transferred from vibrations to translation until the system freezes and at the same time accelerate a lot as a whole.

Its origin lies in the use of floating-point math and the fact that it summing floating-point numbers is inexact and that their resolution depends on their magnitude. Thus something that (theoretically) should sum up to (exactly) zero does not. Most of the time, this is not a problem. There will be some fluctuations around the origin of the cell, but it would mostly cancel out. But sometimes a center of mass drift will appear and then problems start, since there usually is nothing in a typical simulation that can dissipate it.

There are multiple contributing factors.

• the way how the initial temperature is set (but you used the mom yes option, that will remove it)
  • the initial system geometry (you have an “asymmetric” geometry in your constituent molecules), an atomic system is less prone