Phana install, fix/phonon

I have calculated phonon dynamic matrix for silicon using fix/phonon command and that created the binary file. According to the author of the fix/phonon Dr. Ling-Ti Kong, to crate phonon dispersion curve and density of state we have to install ‘phana’ post processing tool. I tried to follow the github installation process (installing clpack and tricubic) which is provided by Dr. Kong for multiple time. As I am new to the linux platform, I am unable to install it properly and can’t make executable ‘phana’ . Can anyone help me out how to install it properly in details step by step.

Lammps version: 3rd march 2020 legacy version

Thank you.

Please note that this isn’t really a LAMMPS question but a Linux compilation question.

In my experience, the best kind of help you can get with this would be to ask a local person for assistance, that has experience with compiling software from source on Linux (but not necessarily with LAMMPS let alone the phana program).

Thank you. I will try to reach out to some of my friends expert on linux

Were you able to do this?

Also, I had a question. Any idea if phana can be run on Windows? I do not have Linux on my workstation and do not have the option of installing one. So I wanted to know if I can use install phana on Windows.

Any directions on tutorials will be very helpful. Thank you so much for your time.

It should be possible. I was able to compile an executable with a Linux to Windows cross-compiler. The same build environment I use to prepare the LAMMPS installer packages for Windows.

You could install/enable the Windows Subsystem for Linux (WSL 2): 8.6.4. Using LAMMPS on Windows 10 with WSL — LAMMPS documentation

Or you could install VirtualBox. Then you can install Linux in a virtual machine.
I often do things the other way around and run Windows or macOS in a virtual machine on my Linux desktop for testing LAMMPS on those operating systems.

1 Like