Problems with dihedral_style potential

Dear Community,

I am a Master student from Germany and new to MD simulations with LAMMPS. My current goal is to simulate a coarse-grained polymer system, i.e. a system of M chains each made of N beads using the attached force-field.

Unfortunately, the LAMMPS simulations are always crashing after a few minutes or, sometimes, hours (ERROR on proc 0: Bond atoms 366 367 missing on proc 0 at step 2865170 (../ntopo_bond_all.cpp:63)).

The problem seems to be related to the dihedral_style potential, because when I am not using any (or instead use dihedral_style zero) the simulation finishes normally.

Now, I understand that if the bonds in a dihedral become collinear, the corresponding dihedral angle can not be defined any more, which should cause significant numerical errors in the simulation. Or in my case I checked certain output step by step using:

"compute 1 all property/local aatom1 aatom2 aatom3",
"compute 1 all property/local datom1 datom2 datom3 datom4", and
"compute 1 all property/local patom1 patom2" (with all the appropriate computes and dumps)

and

a) there are no exact 180° or 0° angles (only occasionally 179.99)

b) there are no noticeably strange dihedral values (such as NAN)

c) there is always at least one exceptionally high Potential (Lennard-Jones) Energy value between two beads of different chains (note that I am using up to 3'rd neighbor exclusions) in the last times-step before the crash.

Because of this I would exclude the above mentioned reason for my crashes.

So it seems there is a correlation betweeen the dihedral_style potential and the overlapping of non-bonded beads. But how can there be a causality between these two events and how can I prevent it?

Cheers

Simon

ff_short.txt (655 Bytes)

Dear Simon,

The error says that bond number 366 and atom number 367 is missing. It must be probably due to following reasons: