Questions about KSPACE

Hiya,

My name is Alexander Petkov, I am a PhD student and have recently started using LAMMPS. I’ve been trying to do runs calculating bulk gallium oxide’s thermal conductivity, followed by plans to extract TBR between gallium oxide and other materials.
I’ve been using [pair_style buck/coul/long] for bulk gallium oxide, which includes coulombic interaction. This, however, requires me to use KSPACE and define a kspace_style. That’s all fine and good, until the calculation starts running. First, it becomes significantly more expensive computationally (unlike runs with equivalent code, say for bulk silicon or diamond). Also, the calculation crashes at the very end (again, unlike my runs for silicon or diamond, which have the same code safe for the KSPACE inclusion (and, of course, a different crystal structure)). At the point where the code should calculate the temperature gradient across the simulated box, I receive the error: [ERROR: Thermo and fix not computed at compatible times (…/thermo.cpp:288)]. So far, no matter how much I tweak my fix commands for gallium oxide, I can’t seem to remove this error. Conversely, no matter how I tweak my fix commands for diamond or silicon, I can’t seem to get that error, which is why I assume there’s some incompatibility with KSPACE going on.
Does anyone know more about this error or what it might stem from? Does anyone know how to avoid it? Is there a way to still include coulombics while avoiding using KSPACE? Do you have any other suggestions?
Thank you very much in advance - I’m looking forward to see what you think.

All the best,

Alexander Petkov

Hiya,

My name is Alexander Petkov, I am a PhD student and have recently started using LAMMPS. I’ve been trying to do runs calculating bulk gallium oxide’s thermal conductivity, followed by plans to extract TBR between gallium oxide and other materials.