Result of minimizing highly dependent on input lattice

Hi everyone!

I’m still new to lammps, so I already discussed my problem with some more experienced users, but to no avail. Maybe someone here has a suggestion.

I’m trying to get reliable results for the lattice parameters of orthorhombic perovskite via the minimize command, which should be later used by different algorithms. The results are physically plausible, however, lattice parameters and total energy seem to depend highly on the input positions.

For reference: adding 0.5 Angstrom to the inital lattice in every dimension results in a difference of 0.1, 0.1 and -0.2 Angstrom in the “energy minimum” (which is .2 eV higher than the one I get using literature values for the unit cell dimensions).

I’m using a Pedone potential which is entered manually. This approach worked well for a cubic perovskite-type structure before, resulting in only minimal differences, so I doubt it’s a problem with the potential.

Solution attempts so far did include varying the minimization parameters (cg or hftn, convergence criteria) and the kspace value. I also tried performing several minimize operations while alternately fixing and unfixing a box/relax fix (I’ll post my source code for this method below), but was unable to escape the local minimum found by the algorithm.

Did anybody encounter a similar problem?

Sincerely,
Johannes

It would help to know what output (good, failed) the
minimizer is giving in your runs. Aidan can
comment on the subtle issues inherent in

minimizing over lattice constants (i.e with fix box/relax).

Steve

adding 0.5 Angstrom to the inital lattice in every dimension results in a difference of 0.1, 0.1 and -0.2 Angstrom in the "energy minimum" (which is .2 eV higher than the one I get using literature values for the unit cell dimensions).

Here are some scenarios with solutions

A. The minimization did not converge. Solution: run more iterations, adjust vmax, etc.