Shear motion in opposite of Box deformation

Hi LAMMPS Users,

I am very new to LAMMPS trying to run some simple NEMD cases with the code (so sorry if the questions are basic). I am trying to simulate a system in shear flow using the nemd commands shown below. The system consists of multiple particles which can interact with each other. What I observed is that when I visualize the output in VMD, the box deforms in one direction while the particles are moving in the opposite direction. This does not make sense to me at least visually. I was wondering if I am doing something wrong or there exists an explanation for this. here are the main lines of the script I am running:

units lj
atom_style atomic
boundary p p p

read_data initial_configuration.txt (the data includes initial positions and velocities + dimensions of orthogonal box)

change_box all x delta 0 20 boundary p p p triclinic

fix 2 all langevin 1.0 1.0 1.0 ${seed} #(may comment sometimes)
fix 1 all nvt/sllod temp 1.0 1.0 1.0
fix 3 all deform 1 xy erate 0.01 remap v

Here is an image of what I get in VMD after few timesteps:

Another minor questions is that although the initial configuration puts all atoms in the box, whenever I visualize in VMD it seems that only 1/4 of the particles are inside the visualized box. Is there an explanation for it?

Thanks in advance for your help

Please report which versions of LAMMPS and VMD you are using and it would also be great if you could provide the complete input deck (best create a compressed tar archive, put it on dropbox, google drive, one drive, github or similar and provide a link to it) so we can try to reproduce your observations and review all settings and input.

Thanks for the quick reply. The LAMMPs I am using is on hpc and the 22 Aug 2018 version. VMD is the latest 1.9.4 windows 64bit version (2020). The script and initial configuration files are located here:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/18fQ3TN0ejYpoy0alWWBQ33CkwSOxcVnD/view?usp=sharing