Simulation with openKIM takes to much time

Hello

I am conducting a simulation with 4000 particles using the SNAP Ni Potential to calculate the enthalpy and density of the system. The system is being heated from 300K to 2700K, and I am studying the phase changes. The first time I ran the simulation, I used the Ni_Zuo_JPCA2020 with Kokkos and it took about 10 hours to finish. However, when I ran the simulation using OpenKIM with the same potential, it has been running for more than 3 days and is less than halfway done. How can I speed up the simulation?

This is the Script

variable nrep equal 10
variable a equal 3.527

kim init SNAP_ZuoChenLi_2019_Ni__MO_365106510449_000 metal

variable nx equal ${nrep}

variable ny equal ${nrep}

variable nz equal ${nrep}

boundary p p p

lattice fcc $a

region box block 0 ${nx} 0 ${ny} 0 ${nz}
create_box 1 box
create_atoms 1 box

mass 1 58.69

kim interactions Ni

thermo 100
thermo_style custom step density temp press enthalpy

timestep 1.0e-3
neighbor 1.0 bin
neigh_modify once no every 1 delay 0 check yes

velocity all create 300.0 1523945 dist gaussian

variable i loop 50
label loopa
variable tx equal 300+50*($i-1)

log heating_ni_t${tx}.out

fix 1 all npt temp ${tx} ${tx} 0.01 iso 0.0 0.0 0.1

run 40000

unfix 1

next i

jump in.heating loopa

variable i loop 50

label loopb

variable tx equal ${tx}-50

log cooling_ni_t${tx}.out

fix 1 all npt temp ${tx} ${tx} 0.01 iso 0.0 0.0 0.1

run 40000

unfix 1

next i

jump in.heating loopb

The command i use to run the simulation is

nohup nice mpirun -n 1 lmp -k on g 1 -sf kk -pk kokkos cuda/aware on neigh half newton on -in in.heating >./out.heating &

Thank you and greetings!

@juanorregom I have recategorized your post. This is really a question for the OpenKIM folks.

thank you, greetings

Hi Juan,