Single-precision KOKKOS?

Hi all, particularly the developers:

I’ve been using LAMMPS for a couple of years now, mainly using the GPU acceleration package. Our research group has its own cluster, which we built with consumer-grade, single-precision GPUs. I learned about KOKKOS and I wanted to give it a try, since it doesn’t have the back-and-forth communication every timestep like the GPU package. But, I was crushed when I found out that it only supports double-precision. Is there a hard reason for this? Or is it just no one’s asked or volunteered enough time? I’ll happily help out if help is needed.

Should I submit this on the github page as well?

Michael Jacobs

Hi all, particularly the developers:

I’ve been using LAMMPS for a couple of years now, mainly using the GPU acceleration package. Our research group has its own cluster, which we built with consumer-grade, single-precision GPUs. I learned about KOKKOS and I wanted to give it a try, since it doesn’t have the back-and-forth communication every timestep like the GPU package. But, I was crushed when I found out that it only supports double-precision. Is there a hard reason for this? Or is it just no one’s asked or volunteered enough time? I’ll happily help out if help is needed.

The (current) use of double precision stems from the design of having the same code compiled for different backends. To the best of my knowledge support for single and mixed precision is under development, but I don’t know what is the ETA on that. It will require substantial changes to the KOKKOS package in LAMMPS.