Surface energy calculation for diamond

Hi,
I am new to Materials Project and also to surface chemistry.

I am trying to reproduce the surface energy of diamond (C-mp_66) along (100) Miller Index plane using the methods discussed in VASP Surface Science tutorials. I find the POSCAR for the unit cell has different lattice parameters (along x- and y-) when compared to the (100) surface slab. I do not understand the reason.

Also, could you provide the INCAR file for slab surface energy calculation?

Many thanks!

Hi mghosh,

The Materials Project methods likely differ some from those of the VASP surface science tutorials, but if you want to generate a (100) diamond slab and VASP parameters according to the MP methods outlined in this paper, you can use the following code.

# Construct the slab
from pymatgen.core.surface import generate_all_slabs
from pymatgen import MPRester

mpr = MPRester(YOUR_API_KEY_GOES_HERE)
diamond = mpr.get_structure_by_material_id(
    "mp-66", conventional_unit_cell=True)
slabs = generate_all_slabs(
    structure=diamond, 
    max_index=1, # maximum miller index to include
    min_slab_size=10.0,  # slab size in angstroms
    min_vacuum_size=15.0,  # min vacuum size in angstroms
)
# Get the 100 slab
slab_100 = [slab for slab in slabs 
            if slab.miller_index == (1, 0, 0)][0]

# Construct the VASP inputs
from pymatgen.io.vasp.sets import MVLSlabSet
input_set = MVLSlabSet(slab_100)
input_set.write_input(FOLDER_TO_PUT_INPUT_IN)

# Or if you just want the incar
input_set.incar.write_file("INCAR")

Note that this requires some configuration for your VASP pseudopotential directory, see the POTCAR setup section of the pymatgen installation page. If you’re interested in the Materials Project approach to surface science more generally, you may want to check out our papers on high-throughput approaches to adsorption calculations and on work function calculations.

1 Like

Hi Joseph,