The LAMMPS-SPH User's Guide has to be updated

Hi LAMMPS members!

I’m a LAMMPS freshman. I want to use LAMMPS to carry out SPH simulation. The provided User’s Guide was written in 2011. Thirteen years have passed and LAMMPS has been updated to version 2Aug2023. Many keywords have been modified. Hence, there are many “bugs” in the User’s Guide since obsolete keywords are not recognized in the current LAMMPS. To name a few, meso is changed to sph, meso_e is changed to sph/e, and meso_rho is changed to sph/rho. This is very unfriendly to freshmen like me. So I suggested the User’s Guide be updated ASAP.

I also wonder how to find the proper keywords when I encounter the obsolete keywords like meso.

Also, I found a similar issue was suggested seven years ago by @_Alessio_Alexiadis_S in https://matsci.org/t/invalid-atom-style-command-with-hybrid/27612. @akohlmey said it was because molecule may not be installed, which is not the real reason. It is merely because the keyword meso has been changed to sph!

That is not correct. In LAMMPS version 17 November 2016 the atom style for the (USER-)SPH package was still called “meso”.

Actually, the current version is 7Feb2024. :wink:

All corrected keywords should be shown in the LAMMPS manual directly, https://docs.lammps.org/ (or when using the stable version LAMMPS Documentation (2 Aug 2023 version) — LAMMPS documentation )

Please note that such contributed additional documentation are not written by the LAMMPS developers but by the authors of the contributed packages. Thus when the package contributor does not update those along the changes to the LAMMPS code and manual, then they will become outdated. Since those are PDF files, the LAMMPS developers cannot update them, because we are lacking the corresponding source code (usually LaTeX files).