Trouble installing Electrode Package using traditional make

Hello,

I am new to LAMMPS, and I am using the stable 2, August 2023 version. I am trying to build LAMMPS using make mpi, and I have the Molecule, Manybody, KSPACE, and Rigid packages installed.

I am trying to install the Electrode Package. I tried to follow the instructions listed on this website (3.7. Packages with extra build options — LAMMPS documentation), and I used these commands:
make lib-electrode args=“-m mpi”
make lib-linalg args=“-m mpi”

The make mpi command works with the first four packages, but whenever I try to use it with the electrode package installed, I get an error that looks like this:

mpicxx -g -O3 -std=c++11 -DLAMMPS_GZIP -DLAMMPS_MEMALIGN=64 -DMPICH_SKIP_MPICXX -DOMPI_SKIP_MPICXX=1 -c …/pppm_electrode.cpp
…/pppm_electrode.cpp(765): error: expected a “;”
double *_noalias xi_ele = x_ele[ipos];
^

…/pppm_electrode.cpp(768): error: identifier “xi_ele” is undefined
int nix = static_cast((xi_ele[0] - boxlo[0]) * delxinv + shift) - OFFSET;
^

…/pppm_electrode.cpp(883): error: expected a “;”
double *_noalias xi_ele = x_ele[ipos];
^

…/pppm_electrode.cpp(886): error: identifier “xi_ele” is undefined
int nix = static_cast((xi_ele[0] - boxlo[0]) * delxinv + shift) - OFFSET;
^

compilation aborted for …/pppm_electrode.cpp (code 2)
make[1]: *** [Makefile:114: pppm_electrode.o] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory ‘/jet/home/dlee5/lammps-2Aug2023/src/Obj_mpi’
make: *** [Makefile:397: mpi] Error 2

Can someone help me with what I am doing wrong to install the package?

Thank you!

I cannot reproduce this error when repeating the commands you described.
The code relevant to define the problematic “_noalias” macro predates the ELECTRODE package (fall 2014) and should always work and never lead to an error like you describe.

Did you make any changes to the sources outside of downloading the stable version?
How did you obtain the stable version?