Using all the processors on my laptop

Guys, I am new to LAMMPS could someone help me run the simulation on all processors?

No problem. Just put it in a box and ship it to my office address and I will happily will make certain it is running a simulation on all processors. :smiling_imp:

Otherwise there is a lot of useful information in the documentation:
https://docs.lammps.org/Run_head.html
https://docs.lammps.org/Speed.html

Okay, I will have to be specific, the mpich2 software when I tried to install it, flagged me a message stating that .NET version 2.5 was not installed despite me installing it, beforehand. could you suggest something?

I wanted to clarify, This error was flagged despite me installing all the versions of .NET

That indicates that you forgot to mention that your laptop is running windows.
I have never seen that error message but it makes no sense. Which version of MPICH from where were you trying to install.?

Depending on the details of your simulation, you may (after uninstalling those useless .Net packages) install the non-MPI version of LAMMPS and use OpenMP parallization.

I used the MPICH from the LAMMPS Windows Installer Repository.

A quick session with google search reveals, that a) you don’t need to download any specific version of .net explicitly, but rather b) need to enable .Net support in your Windows version. Specifically:

You need to launch the Control Panel and go to where you can configure optional Windows features:
Enable_Win_Features

Then you need to enable .Net 3.5 (and older):
DotNet35and20

That will prompt you do download updates:
UpdateDownload

After that is completed, you should be able to install the mpich2 package.

Yes, it worked

I am getting this error when I use the mpiexec -localonly command. what do you think is the reason? when I switch to other command mpiexec -np it fails.? could you see the problem.

19_05_2022_2