What are the command lines used for the dumping forces in LAMMPS code?

The forces are the particular atoms/molecules forces due the effect of another atoms/molecules(Fij). These forces used for my spectral heat flux calculation please help me out.

Hi there,
Have you taken a look at the LAMMPS website? you can find detailed information here.

1 Like

I studied whatever you said and I tried also

Define computes for forces

compute force_BOR BOR group/group CH3

Ensure the compute command calculates per-atom information

compute_modify force_BOR dynamic yes

Define a dump file to store force data for Boron atoms

dump 1 all custom 100 forces_BOR.dat id c_force_BOR[1] c_force_BOR[2] c_force_BOR[3]

Actually I added above lines to my input code but I’m getting below error how to resolve this you have any idea sir

ERROR: Dump custom compute force_BOR does not compute per-atom info (src/dump_custom.cpp:1450)
Last command: dump 1 all custom 100 forces_BOR.dat id c_force_BOR[1] c_force_BOR[2] c_force_BOR[3]

“Ensure the compute command calculates per-atom information” is a bit optimistic. If you look in the documentation for compute group/group you will not see any instructions for how to make the compute do that (because the only way to do that is to modify the source code).

What about something like:

compute prop all property/atom fx fy fz
variable afx atom c_prop[1]
variable afy atom c_prop[2]
variable afz atom c_prop[3]
dump 1 all custom 100 forces.dump id xu yu zu v_afx v_afy v_afz
dump_modify 1 sort id colname v_afx Fx colname v_afy Fy colname v_afz Fz

Thank you for your reply sir. But I have some doubt whatever the force components in your command lines that forces are total force or force acting on one atom due to the effect of another atom(Fij)?

For example in my system I want to compute the force components of CH3 molecules due to the effect of Boron atoms(Fij).

I see. First of all, let me simplify the previous snippet: