Feature reduction

I am a seasoned material scientist, but a newbie at machine learning. I am enjoying the process of applying machine learning to my field and have enjoyed going the matminer topics. To further my understanding, I have been reading “Hands-on Machine Learning with Scikit-Learn, Keras, and TensorFlow” by Aurelien Geron. I notice that he worries about “over fitting” and suggests feature reduction and among other things suggests using principle components analysis as a vehicle to achieve this. In going through the matminer_example repository, I read through the formation_e (formation energy) notebook that partially recreates the 2016 paper by Ward et al. attempting to predict the formation energy. In particular this notebook (and the paper) generates a large number of features from the composition. This is reasonable in and of itself, but the large number of features (about 140) made me wonder about the need (or not) for feature reduction. In fact, doing a PCA analysis with even 0.99 of the variance specified only results in three unique features suggesting that there is overfitting due to the use of a large feature set. Of course, PCA analysis is linear and will likely miss non-linear contributions, but I wonder about the massive difference in degrees of freedom the PCA analysis suggests. So for those experts in the Materials Project (and outside of it as well), what are your thoughts on this issue?

2 Likes

Some kind of feature reduction on the Magpie feature set is usually a good idea, as you said many of the features are correlated. This is one reason why automatminer has a feature reduction step in the pipeline

Hey @Paul_Fons ! Feature reduction is certainly an important step in any ML-matsci experiment. Especially since as @Anubhav_Jain said, many of the features are correlated.