How to convert tersoff potential unit from metal to real

Hello dear Lammps users
please i need your assistance and guidance
I am new in this field and I would like to know how to convert tersoff potential parameter unit from metal to real.
I have attached the input script where i converted the energy unit from ev to Kcal/mol, the time unit from ps to fs and the pressure unit from bars to atmosphere.
The problem is that i really don`t know how to proceed and complete the tersoff unit conversion from metal to real successfully. Really need your guidance.
best regards;
Maska

Crystalline_eq_script1.data (2.5 KB)

Why not run this simulation in metal units, and then convert your desired output quantities to real?

If you have a sufficiently recent LAMMPS version and your Tersoff potential file has a suitable tag indicating the units it requires, there is no need to convert it. You can just use real units and LAMMPS will convert it automatically when reading the parameters.

okay, thank you

Okay, thank you.

What do you mean with a “suitable Tag”
I use “real” units in my input, and in my Tersoff file, does LAMMPS do the conversion automatically?
Or I need to add a command to do this?

This is my tersoff file
"C C C 3.0 1.0 0.0 38049.0 4.3484 -0.93 0.72751
1.5724e-7 2.2119 9916 1.95 0.15 3.4879 32137.17
"

1 Like

Here is the corresponding part of the pair style tersoff documentation:

The Tersoff potential files provided with LAMMPS (see the potentials directory) are parameterized for “metal” units. In addition the pair style supports converting potential parameters on-the-fly between “metal” and “real” units. You can use the tersoff pair style variants with any LAMMPS units setting, but you would need to create your own Tersoff potential file with coefficients listed in the appropriate units if your simulation does not use “metal” or “real” units.