Inducing flow in an SRD fluid

Dear LAMMPS users,

I am trying to simulate flow around dumbbell particles sandwiched between two plates and I have chosen an SRD fluid as a solvent. From what I understood from both the mailing list and the documentation, by using fix gravity one can introduce a pressure gradient and thus induce flow (this approach is suggested by a few articles, as well: 10.1039/C2SM26727F and 10.1103/PhysRevE.86.066703).

Since I am new to LAMMPS I decided to start simple by just adding the fix gravity to the in.srd.mixture example script provided by the software:

fix 1 big nve
fix 2 small srd 50 big 1.0 0.25 49894 lamda 0.1 &
radius 0.88 search 0.2 collision noslip shift yes 15135
fix 3 small gravity 0.5 vector 1 0 0
fix 4 all enforce2d

Yet, it seems as if nothing changes – if I run LAMMPS twice, once with this script and once with the 3rd fix commented out, I obtain the same numerical result. Am I missing something obvious?

Going through the mailing list for possible solutions, I came across this thread: which suggests one should modify the SRD fix to introduce the gravity term. Is this indeed true? I am running the 14th May 2016 version of LAMMPS under openSUSE 13.1 on a i3-3240 processor. Thank you very much for your time! Best regards, Rumen Georgiev MPI-Stuttgart

Hi,

At least the streaming step for SRD has to be modified to include the ballistic
component of the forced flow. By reading the code in fix_srd.cpp it is not taken
into account.

Also, the most used boundary condition involves "ghost particles" in the wall,
this is also not part of the current fix.

Regards,

Pierre

Do any articles use gravity with SRD solvent? I don’t know

if anyone uses that kind of model. Why not apply gravity
to the large particles? Your script

is undoubtably complicated. I suggest starting simple,

e.g. pure SRD fluid or just big particles, see if you can equilibrate,

see if applying gravity does anything, see how bit the gravity

term needs to be, etc.